Light rail in Sydney Light rail in Sydney - ImagesGram

Light rail in Sydney

The Sydney light rail network (or Sydney Light Rail) is a light rail system serving the Australian city of Sydney, New South Wales. The network currently consists of two passenger routes, the L1 Dulwich Hill Line and L2 Randwick Line. A third passenger route, the L3 Kingsford Line, will commence service in March 2020. A separate light rail network serving Western Sydney called Parramatta Light Rail is also under construction as of 2019, and will be completed in 2023.

The network is controlled by the New South Wales Government's transport authority, Transport for NSW, with day-to-day operation contracted to Transdev. In the year ended June 2019, 11.1 million passenger journeys were made on the network, which only consisted of L1 at the time.
L2 Randwick & L3 Kingsford Lines

The L2 Randwick Line and L3 Kingsford Line are Sydney's newest passenger routes on the Sydney light rail network. L2 Randwick Line services commenced on 14 December 2019, while L3 Kingsford Line services will commence in March 2020. They operate on the CBD and South East Light Rail, between Circular Quay at the northern end of the central business district to Central station at the southern end, then continuing to the south-eastern suburbs.

CBD and South East Light Rail was built to reduce bus congestion in the CBD and provides higher capacity public transport to the New Sydney Football Stadium, Sydney Cricket Ground, Randwick Racecourse and the University of New South Wales, which were previously served only by buses. In contrast to the Inner West Light Rail, the line is mostly on-street and follows a similar path to routes used by the former tramway network. Major construction began in October 2015. The line will be fully open in March 2020.