2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Final 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Final - ImagesGram

2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Final

The 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup Final was the concluding basketball game which determined the winner of the 2019 FIBA Basketball World Cup. The game was played on 15 September 2019, at the Wukesong Arena, in Beijing, China, between Argentina and Spain.

At halftime, a turnover ceremony was held to officially hand over the hosting rights of the FIBA Basketball World Cup from China to the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia, hosts of the 2023 FIBA Basketball World Cup.
Spain won their second World Cup title after a 95–75 win. Marc Gasol became the first player since Lamar Odom in 2010 to win an NBA championship and a World Cup in the same year, and the first non-American to win an NBA or WNBA title and either a World Cup or Olympic gold medal in the same year.

Game details

This is the eighth meeting between Argentina and Spain at the World Cup, with the Spaniards winning five; Argentina won two, including their last meeting at the 2010 World Championship. Spain won the last competitive meeting, at the 2016 Summer Olympics.

Spain led by 14–2 at the start of the game. Argentina recovered to finish the first quarter with 14 points against Spain's 22. The lead then fluctuated, but once the Argentinians cut the deficit to twelve at the start of the third quarter, the Spaniards went on a 14–0 run, leading by 55–33. The Spaniards never looked back. Ricky Rubio scored 20 points in the game, and limited Facundo Campazzo to just 11 points in 20% field-goal percentage. Luis Scola was also limited to 1/10 shooting in the game, and didn't score until making his free-throws late in the third quarter, as Gabriel Deck had a game high 24 points. Marc Gasol scored 14 points, had a team high 7 assists, had 2 steals, and blocked 3 shots in the game. Argentina tried to mount a comeback in the fourth period, but by then the lead was too great, and there was little time remaining by then. Spain won its second World Cup, with Gasol and Fernández being also a part of the first title in 2006.