2019 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final: Dublin vs Kerry 2019 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final: Dublin vs Kerry - ImagesGram

2019 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final: Dublin vs Kerry

The 2019 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final was the 132nd final of the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship and the culmination of the 2019 tournament, the top level of competition in Gaelic football. Reigning All-Ireland champions Dublin took on Munster champions Kerry, with Dublin bidding to become the first Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) male n 1 team to win five consecutive editions of the competition. The last time a football team had this chance was in 1982; however, Kerry failed, their own winning streak being brought to an end by a last-minute goal. By coincidence, Kerry provided the opposition for Dublin on this occasion.

The final was shown live in Ireland on RTÉ Two as part of The Sunday Game live programme, presented by Joanne Cantwell (for the first time) from Croke Park, with studio analysis from Joe Brolly, Pat Spillane, and Ciarán Whelan. The play-by-play announcer was Ger Canning, assisted by colour commentator Kevin McStay. Sky Sports also showed live coverage, presented by Rachel Wyse and Brian Carney.

The match was played at Croke Park in Dublin on 1 September 2019, featuring goals by Jack McCaffrey and Killian Spillane and a red card for Jonny Cooper. It finished in a draw, so a replay was held on 14 September. Dublin replaced M. D. MacAuley with Eoin Murchan for the replay, while RTÉ replaced Joe Brolly with Stephen Rochford. Murchan scored a goal straight from the second half throw-in as Dublin defeated Kerry by a scoreline of 1–18 to 0–15 in the replay to become the first male n 1 team to win five consecutive GAA All-Ireland titles.

On television, the drawn game received a 76.5% audience share. The replay received a 72.3% audience share.

Main article: Dublin–Kerry Gaelic football rivalry

Dublin went into the final aiming for an unprecedented five-in-a-row of All-Ireland titles. Kerry twice came close to a five-in-a-row, winning the All-Ireland in 1929–32 and losing the 1933 semi-final; and winning the All-Ireland in 1978–81 and losing the 1982 final.
Kerry and Dublin had met in 13 previous All-Ireland finals, with Kerry winning eight of these and Dublin five.

Between them, the two counties had won half of the All-Ireland championships played once the 2019 final was completed: Kerry having 37 wins (the last in 2014) and Dublin having 28 ahead of the 2019 final. Adding in 2019, this gave a total of 66, out of 132 years in which the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship has been completed.

Dublin were 1/5 in the betting odds going into the first game, unprecedented odds against Kerry in an All-Ireland final.
This was also only the third championship replay between the teams since their rivalry began in 1892. Yet the other two were not All-Ireland finals, nor were they played at Croke Park, making 2019 the first such replay